Sunday, August 03, 2014

New Release Blogger Review -- Fall by Scarlett Dawn


A savagely wicked new adult sci-fi series blasts off with Fall, the first novella in The Cold Mark Saga...

Only one thousand Humans survived The Travel from the shattered Earth. Some Humans say it was their penance for crushing such beauty. Eighteen-year-old Braita merely thought it was pathetic - pathetic that her people had been that blind.

Now, the Humans live in the solar system, Kline, where three planets are habitable. Joyal, the smallest planet, is embraced by the Humans - their family to love as they had never loved Earth. Though a planet covered mainly in water is dangerous real estate to dwell upon.

Their worry turns into devastating reality when Braita’s blessed village is struck by a tsunami. Population numbers must be kept to a minimum. Drastic measures must be taken. Braita’s life is twisted in brutality when she is chosen as one of the three hundred Humans to be removed from Joyal…and sent to the Mian, the aliens to fear, on the planet Triaz.

Thrown head first into a barbaric world she knows nothing of, Braita must adapt to a dark life as a slave of the Mian society. Her existence depends on it…and possibly, the fall of her heart.

~Buy the Book~

After Earth was destroyed, three planets that had been discovered and established, they became the new habitats for life forms through the solar system, Kline…Humans though only lived in Joyal.  A peaceful planet.  The other two, Egyac and Triaz were already inhabited by other alien life forms…one being deeply psychic and the other being a war society.

“The villagers racing for their lives through the streets…taken, the ocean now their coffin.  The white houses…taken, the ocean flooding over them like they were the pebbles I stepped on.  The church with the ringing bells…taken, the oceans floor its destination.  Only the rush of water and wind was heard past the cries of the devastated.  I stood shivering in the night, and prayed the blessed sun would be enough to heal out planet.”

Now, Joyal has been devastated and the humans have been summoned to find other places to live…for Braita and Jax, it means they could be potentially separated, or worse…killed.

Being chosen can be both a blessing and a curse.  Hoping for the best, but fearing the worst, Jax and Braita go to the town meeting in order to discover their fate.  Hoping they are together…on the peaceful planet of Egyac. 

Except hope only gets one so far in times of need.  Not only is luck against them, but once they learn what their fate is to be…

“We fought together as one, even as more Mian warriors blazed down from the bleachers.  They wanted to eradicate the Humans in their midst. Those fifteen minutes were the longest of my life.  I had never fought so hard against a foe who was superior on all levels of strength and speed.  It took everything Jax and I had to remain standing and alive.  But the halo-clock counted down its final tick, an alarm shrieking though the air that the fight was done.”

Wow.  That is all I can say.

The start of this novella series is absolutely unlike anything I’ve personally read before.  I am not usually one to read sci-fi or fantasy of this sort and I am SO HAPPY I took a chance with Scarlett Dawn’s Fall.  I knew the writing would be amazing, I just didn’t count on the story pulling me in like this one did.

This book is seriously like Hunger Games meets ET meets Mom & Dad Save the World meets Judge Dredd…I cannot wait for the next installment to come out, I have to know what happens! 

**5 Sexy Aliens & Scary Human Stars**

~Meet the Author~

#1 Bestseller in Witches and Wizards Romance and award-winner, Scarlett Dawn is the author of the Forever Evermore new adult fantasy series, which include King Hall and King Cave. She lives in the Midwest, adores her music loud, and her fries covered in melted cheese.



No comments:

Post a Comment